Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

first light - Nexstar 8se

martin_h

After 3 days of waiting i finaly got it all out and into the garden!

Im new to all this so please bare with me. Everything was as it should be and as was advertised, the initial setup was a doddle (tripod,mount and scope) I set it up as the light was just fading and left it all out there to equalise for a couple of hours.

And now for the fun bit!!!! I set up for a sky align, inputting time, date, location etc, lined up on 3 bright stars....alignment failed...grrrrr At this point I must add that the finder scope is next to usless, both settings are wound to the stops and its still way out, I set it on jupiter and looking through the scope i can just see the glow just out of field, so for anything smaller its a waste of time. Anyway try again with alignment.....same result....fail!!!! Infact it failed 16 times.

So I tryed for a planet allignment - jupiter - but it wasnt in the selection list, so i assumed that Ive input the wrong lon,lat coords, after a quick check on the computer back out and start again, this time jupiter was in the list - sorted! but it wouldnt track it. so i looked for a planet in the seek list and it said the moon was there? so I asked it so look for it and the scope swang round an pointed straight up!!!!!! ho hum!

So after a few hours I settled for lookind at jupiter and manually tracking it... The scope came with a Opticstar PL-30C camera so i thought i'd try that, so after fixing it to the scope, drag the laptop out, find jupiter and away we go - not! hardly any of the software recognised the camera, it kept defaulting to the webcam on the lap top! anyway i managed to get 1 piece of software going - find jupiter again! get it all running and............ a 3 second video of jupiter and 3 moons before it all went out of field.