Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

To much magnification?

300x is the max magnification under perfect conditions for your scope. 208x should be OK, but it all depends on what the seeing is like and what you are trying to observe, some nights you can only use half the theoretical max magnification or much less.

Try using the Televue eyepiece calculator. http://www.televue.com/engine/calculate3b.asp?NoBack=True&_2in=yes

John

I think the rule of thumb is 50-60 times inches of aperture, so maximum useful magnification : 50-60 * 5" = 250-300.

There are all sorts of things that affect if you can see anything at that magnification, like atmospheric conditions, light pollution, exit pupil, optical resolution of your instrument (these are the ones I know about). I'm no expert, but if you can track and see your target, why not 208x?

Are you buying a new 6mm eye piece? I'm just starting out in amateur astronomy, and I find that I'm buying longer and longer eye pieces. My latest procurement is a 32mm plossl.

A 6mm should be fine as a maximum power eyepiece for a 5". But be aware that with some designs at that focal length you have a very small lens which can be uncomfortable to use. Rather than a plossl you might want a design such as the TMB planetary.

Such high power is good on Moon/planets if the air is sufficiently stable, and in some deep-sky applications, but for most deep-sky viewing I use lower magnifications. For a long time I used an 8mm eyepiece as my maximum power on a 200mm F6 dob and felt no need to go any higher.

a magnification of 208x appeture is 5" SCT.

I'd say that is too much. Except possibly for double stars near the zenith on the steadiest seeing day of the year.

For planets, 25-30x per inch is enough, you can pick out all the detail he scope can resolve if you look carefully & the brighter image that you get at 25x per inch allows low contrast detail to be seen more easily than if you are using 50x per inch.