Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Observing Report - Meade LB-16

albedo0.39

Excuse the unstructured nature of the report, but I thought I'd drop a few lines about last night. - I'm still learning all this - here goes.

I set up last night for the first "real" observing session I have ever had in my life. All was well:- the 'scope collimated easy as pie and it just sat there for a couple of hours getting itself ready. Mrs Steve was sleeping in anticipation of the observing session to come, whearas I was just reading endless amounts of astronomy magazines wondering what on earth I would eventually see in my new machine.

Would I be disapointed with it ? Have I got the right EP's (no)... Would it perform as well as I epxected ? Would I want to ditch it and go for a bigger scope.??

All these questions were to be answered tonight..

Gulp

Hat on, LED rear light from one of my bikes in hand, I ventured onto the lawn and kicked off at ~ 22:30 and couldn't believe how light it was ! I now understand the term "astronimical darkness" (or the lack of it) and just could not wait for it to get dark

Started with an easy one ! - Saturn in the 9mm EP, (203x) glorious, saw at least 3 moons (I think) and watched this for a few moments before swiching to 26mm EP (70x) to take in a much wider view . Simply stunning - such a jewel.. can it be real ?

I then went into full "EP faff" trying all of the lenses I had including the recently acquired 9mm Ortho - frankly, It wasn't so bad and gave a very different view to the 9mm meade 5000 I purchased a month back.

Now onto some tough stuff - but where to point the scope ?

First up - M51 in CVN and I had to get this as it has always eluded me in my earlier life.. using only the RDF, I managed to find this in about 20s or so and was really pleased to spot 2 bright smudges with just a trace of "something" happening - of course, it's not yet dark.