Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A Question about Alignment

Let me start by saying i'm Very new at this. I think i finally rapped my brain around aligning to The North Star (or Polaris witch ever you prefer). But once i have it aligned say i want to look at something in the southern sky? Do i turn the base or do i turn the whole tripod south. After i do so will i have to realign it?

Thank you Creatureofhabit

I'm using a Celestron Powerseeker 127EQ with a Equatorial Mount

You MUST leave the tripod where it is - the Polar alignment is good (and necessary) for the whole sky. You release the two clutches and swing the 'moving' parts of the mount around until you locate your object then tighten up the clutches and enjoy the view whilst making small adjustments to follow the movement of your object across the sky.

So your say i shouldn't align with The North Star if i want to look in the southern sky ... That hurts man, I just spent the last 2 hrs reading up on how to do that. All well i guess i have some more reading to do

Once you have aligned your mount with Polaris you leave it like that whatever part of the sky you want to observe. If you move the mount so that it is aligned with something else the mount will not be able to track objects just by moving the RA (right ascension) axis which is how it should work.

John

You see the thing is i have a clear view of both the north and southern sky. But i have a tree between it so to look south I'll have to move the telescope.i think thats why i'm so confused right now

Ahh - you can move the scope and then re-align it with polaris when you get it into it's new position.

John