Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I did the Brot

I was toying with the HTML <canvas> element and finally got round to drawing a Mandlebrot set. I wanted to make it infinitely zoomable, but I discovered after zooming a million times or so, Javascript runs out of precision. I need a bigger number!

image.png.e1be1bb4f59e2e2157ae0fc6f2927cf9.png

• Like 10

Very neat.

As you may know, the Mandelbrot set is the map of all connected Julia Sets.

Back when I started BASIC programming, I developed a MB generator, and then developed a secondary function to plot the Julia Set that corresponded to any particular point on the MB set.

It was interesting to see how the overall shape of the JS depended on where the starting point was on the MB set. After a while you could tell where to start if you wanted JSs that had 2 main branches, or 3 branches, or 4 or more.

Some interesting findings.

If I was a born mathematician I'd probably have been able to make something of it - though more likely, I'd have found it was a well known thing in the field.

Now I'm retired I must try to recreate the programme. 

Edited by Gfamily
  • Like 2

9 minutes ago, Gfamily said:

All I know is its maths, its infinitely complex, and it's on my screen 🫠

This is actually stage zero of a web based image processing idea I have. Now that I can draw Mandelbrot, I can draw the contents of a FITS file...

15 minutes ago, Gfamily said:

Thinking about it, how can sets be "connected"? If two sets are connected aren't they just one set?

2 minutes ago, Ags said:

Thinking about it, how can sets be "connected"? If two sets are connected aren't they just one set?

A Julia Set is a set of points on a plane surface. If every point in the set  is adjacent to another point in the set, so they form a single area on the surface, rather than having separate islands, it's said to be connected.

• Thanks 1

Mandelbrot set is best understood as: