NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Best smartphone for taking pictures with a sky-watcher heritage 150

I have a sky-watcher heritage 150. I'm wondering what the best smartphone is good for photography with a phone adapter. I'm not sure if this is an acceptable question for this forum. I'm new at this.

Billy Bob 

• Like 1

I don't know if there's a best, the quality of the photo you'll get is based on whether the phone can focus and be placed in the right position to be able to image through an eyepiece. Having manual control over shutter speed/iso/aperture helps greatly, though most phones are kind of dumb in this regard and have auto modes.

What are you planning on imaging?

Welcome to SGL, and yes, this is a perfectly good question.

I presume you are planning just to hold up the phone to the eyepiece. Many people have obtained decent results this way, though usually on brighter objects like the moon. Fainter objects need a different setup.

The cameras on modern smartphones are increasingly good for simple astrophotography. Look for a photo mode specifically catering for low light or night scenes (it might even mention astro uses).

You can get reasonable results holding the phone by hand, but it is a bit hit and miss. A more repeatable approach uses a device that grips the phone and eyepiece, and holds them in relative position. There are several models at a range of price points, but this one gets good reviews here:

https://www.moveshootmove.com/collections/move-shoot-move-rotator/products/3-axis-smartphone-adapter-for-digiscoping-telescope-spotting-scope-adapters

13 hours ago, Billy Bob said:

I have a sky-watcher heritage 150. I'm wondering what the best smartphone is good for photography with a phone adapter. I'm not sure if this is an acceptable question for this forum. I'm new at this.

Billy Bob