NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Polar aligning HEQ5 Pro with the "new" engraved Polar Scope

Hello everyone,

my Name is Dan from Germany and I'm very new to astrologie and using a Telescope. A Shop put together the HEQ5 and a Skywatcher 200 PDS and some accessories for me.

I build it all up it the living room to see how it all works and I have two major problems to which I'm seeking advice.

First thing is the "home position" for the SynScan, I understand from Videos how its done with the fixing of the green rings to the leveled axis but with the heq5 I can only refix the green ring form the DEC axis. The one for the RA Axis doesn't move when the screw is tightend. It does move though when I losen it, but it then can easily be moved by hand and it doesnt turn without sticking some times. Also it seems like a waste of time to always measure the level of the axis prior to every stargazing session. How have you guys fixed this issue?

Second thing is the polar alignment. The Polar Scope moves with the RA Axis, the manual just sais put 0 on top and 9 on the bottom... well this is kind of vague judging this through this little scope every time when I'm outside. The trackers succesfull guiding will pretty much rely on a exact polar alignment. Here again not beeing able to fix the green ring with the movement of the axis is super annoying since one can't do this once precisely and return to it later. How do you guys manage this efficiently?

Many thanks in advance and appologies if language isn't accurate, I'm not a native speaker 😉

Dan

Hello Obsi and welcome to the site. 

First off, be assured that you are not alone with the learning curve, so ask away.

Not sure what you mean by green ring, but my heq5 is an old version now so hopefully someone will jump in.