NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Bushnell 78-9518 good?

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm far from an expert but I would suggest that NO it's not good whatever the price.

The eyepieces supplied (4mm, 12mm, 20mm, 3x barlow) will give a range of magnifications which is totally unsuitable to a 4.5", 900mm scope and will only lead to frustration.

I'm sure there will be wiser words on here during the day (it's still early morning here) and maybe even some advice from stateside members on where to buy good scopes.

Good luck

Andrew

I agree with Andrew.

I know it's pretty cheap and there's an urgency to gey your first scope, but it's not a great scope and you will soon either be frustrated and want bigger or you will become disillusioned with the hobby and leave.

What sort of budget do you have.

I agree entirely with the other posters on this scope. It will bring much more frustration than enjoyment. At that budget you are much better advised to buy a good pair of 7x50 or 10x50 binoculars and use those to develop your interest in astronomy while you save for a good introductory telescope. A 6" dobsonian telescope will cost you about $200 (less used) and will make a vastly better introductory scope in my opinion.

John

right now i have $100 to spare and $180 if i can sell my current telescope, i was searching last night for reviews on that telescope you all are right, it is not worth it and i read that the build quality is poor on Bushnells. I will save for the 6"+ dobsonians those seem to be the best telescopes to buy from what i see. Thanks for the input guys. Can anyone recommend a site to buy a telescope?