Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSS or PixInsight WPBB?

As a graphic designer, I used Photoshop for best part of 30 years so when I took up AP a couple of years ago it was natural that I would use it for my processing and, up until now, I have resisted getting involved with the ‘steep learning curve’ that many users talk of when taking on PixInsight. However, a few days ago I took the plunge and purchased PixInsight and thanks to some excellent YouTube tutorials and a lot of playing around I can already see why PI is the program of choice for many astrophotographers and I am now a happy convert but… the WPBB script for stacking seems unnecessarily complicated and takes for ever times longer than Deep Sky Stacker to achieve what appear to be similar results. Am I missing something here? Is there an advantage to using the WPBB script rather than DSS. Once the DSS tiff is identified in PI there seems be no difference from a WPBB produced stack when processing.(?)