Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginner

Lizmoo

Hi @Lizmoo and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

2 hours ago, Lizmoo said:

I have a Celestron AstroMaster 114. I am having a hard time viewing any planets clearly. It basically looks the same as with my naked eye. Any suggestions? Should I UPGRADE my lenses?

Most ‘budget’/‘high street’ telescopes are or were often supplied with three 0.965” eyepieces, usually of Huygens or Ramsden design and are H20, HR12.5 & SR4. They are not particularly good. Even with the supplied 2X or 3X Barlow it is not going to make much difference or it is going to be overkill.

I don’t wish to dampen your enthusiasm, but I think your ‘scope is what is referred to as a a ‘Bird-Jones’ design. Again, not ideal. Basically there is a lens element in the eyepiece holder/tube which does away with a Barlow lens. Unfortunately no ‘scope does all in this hobby and each type of telescope design has its pros & cons.

Also when are you using the telescope? and what do you like viewing? If you enjoy the planets and are viewing early evening, then wait until they become higher in the sky. The higher they rise, the less of a dense atmosphere and atmospheric thermals you are looking through. This can or make some improvement and a more enjoyable experience.

• Like 1

You basically have a 4.5 inch there and it should get you some good images of the moon, planets, clusters and the brightest of the deep sky.  

Dumb question time, and this has happened to us all ... Did you take the cover off of the end?  

2 hours ago, Mike Q said:

You basically have a 4.5 inch there and it should get you some good images of the moon, planets, clusters and the brightest of the deep sky.  

Dumb question time, and this has happened to us all ... Did you take the cover off of the end?  

True, that.....I did it tonight, if only for about 5 seconds till it registered!

17 minutes ago, cajen2 said: