NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Samyang 135 question

Hi all, 

Fun question! I’ve seen some Sony Samyang 135mm for sale considerably cheaper than the canon alternative. I was wondering if it is possible to use a Sony lens on a canon DSLR for Astro work? 

eventually I will upgrade to a Zwo camera then use a m48 mount but until that point will it work? Cost saving is around £200 

Not possible. Sony e mount backfocus is around 18mm, Canon EF is 44mm. You can use Canon on Sony, but not the other way around due to this distance difference. You can use either with an astro camera.

Edited by Elp

Yes you can use them with an astro camera but  it might not be as straight forward as using the Canon variety as I’m not sure if anyone sells a suitable adapter for this lens to mate with the camera. Myself and @Tomatobro have gone the Sony route by turning up suitable adapters.

I’m no DSLR expert but does anyone sell a Sony to Canon adapter and what does this do to the back focus spacing? Just read the previous post, looks like a non starter.

You can get a Sony e mount to m42 adaptor, I've got one. Unlike the ZWO Canon adaptors though there's little space to clamp on either lens or the adaptor, your best bet is getting a ring/clamp mount to hold the astro camera body and fashion some sort of support for the bottom of the lens if you're planning on using a Sony lens.

Edited by Elp

• 6 months later...
On 15/08/2023 at 19:50, tomato said:

Yes you can use them with an astro camera but  it might not be as straight forward as using the Canon variety as I’m not sure if anyone sells a suitable adapter for this lens to mate with the camera. Myself and @Tomatobro have gone the Sony route by turning up suitable adapters.

I’m no DSLR expert but does anyone sell a Sony to Canon adapter and what does this do to the back focus spacing? Just read the previous post, looks like a non starter.