Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

what to look for next with my 2 scopes

Right i have looked at the moon, and saturn. How cool is astronomy! I have one of those philips planispheres, but i dont think its very user friendly to be honest ( prob just me! )

I have 2 scopes, skywatcher 130p and just bought a meade lxd55 refractor which is a awsome scope. Saturn looks so much clearer with the meade than the skywatcher at high power.

What do you guys recomend i look at next? i have tried to find some galaxy's that were on the planisphere but no luck. To be honest most nights i have been out have been naff, so that will have something to do with it i expect.

I recommend Turn Left at Orion if you've not alreay got it, contains over 100 easy objects to see with very user-friendly instructions

I'm new to this as well, but your scopes are much better than mine. Here's some things I have enjoyed recently:

The Beehive Cluster

Iota Cancri (Double)

Cor Coreli (Double)

Couple of fuzzy galaxies in Ursa Major, no luck for me so far on this one, you might see them better.

The great Orion Nebula is still on the horizon, if you have the right place I think, but won't be at it's best becuase it sets when it's still twilight, and horizon objects arn't as good because you're looking through more turbulernt air. (I'm learning!)

I've also found that some observing naked eye or binos, learning the constellations with a star map, learning the stories of the constelations, seeing if you can find the Lion in Leo, is also quite fun if your into that sort of thing.

Just search any of these in google with "How too find" at the front, and you should get some good info. Failing that, just tap it into Stellarium or whatever software you have and learn to make your own charts! The Joderall bank observatory site often has good info month to month, just avoid the dimmer objects.