Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Teasing out that hydrogen redness

Hi Guys,

Processing drives me nuts! I have zero idea what I'm doing, how to properly use photo processing tools, masks, curves, channels etc. I've  watched a ton of YT videos related to it and yet still, when it comes to my own pics (of which, I only have a couple since I am very new to the whole thing since giving up Astronomy in my 20s, getting married and, at that time, there was no such equipment and processing capability there is now - I'm now 60) I spend hours and hours just playing with all the processing elements with no idea what comes first, what to do next and how to tease out the nebula. In fact, I just took exposures last night of Deneb, Sadr and their general region, hoping to get the North America nebula and Sadr region gas and I achieved it (to an extent) but I tried to improve on my processing today and couldn't remember the steps I took the night before to bring out all that red. It's not a great pic but it's the best I've achieved thus far.

As a background, I used a standard, unmodified Nikon D5500 with a Samyang 85mm F1.4 lens (stopped down to F4) on a StarAdventurer 2i with 30, 90 second subs and 5 darks. No filters. I live in a bortle 4 but with street lights around (although they didn't directly disturb things).

I appreciate I've over-processed the image and that's part of my issue - to tease out the nebula without over-processing - plus I went too far in star reduction. I used Affinity Photo for stacking and processing - no other software used.

I always seem to have an image that ends up too blue and it is a real struggle to get the reds - again, how I managed this in this photo, I cannot even repeat myself! There was zero nebula to be seen in the subs and even when stacked.