Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Motor Drive Dual Axis - Tracking problems

Greetings, I write from Spain and I recently integrated this motor into my EQ5 mount and I have the following problem: - Problems with tracking/monitoring (I'm a newbie)

There are already several tests and this is the "best" that I have obtained by linking the mobile phone to the eyepiece with the Orion nebula.

- Problems with tracking/monitoring (I'm a newbie): The motor seems to work correctly but, for example, with a 10mm eyepiece and a lot of magnifications, pointing at the moon, the lens can't stay centered for more than 4 or 5 minutes without having to center again.

The same thing happens with the stars with a 25mm ocular and for example Orion Nebulae, it is less noticeable but they do move a little every 4 or 5 seconds of the frame.

So I can't get exposure times longer than 4 seconds without star trails appearing.

Note: - I don't have many means and I'm quite a novice so I know that this problem may be due to a bad alignment with the polar, in my case Polaris.
Comments would be appreciated suggesting how to correct this problem and achieve longer exposure times and what factors it may be due to other than poor alignment with Polaris.

Thanks in advance.

WhatsApp Image 2023-03-05 at 05.49.49.jpeg

motor drive dual axis eq5.png

I'm also a relative newbie to all this but looking at the image and doing a search it seems that the item you have is this one:

Motor Drive Celestron | Celestron Motor Dual | Motor Drive Cg-4 | Motor Drive Kit - Astronomical Accessary - Aliexpress

Dual Axis Electric Motor Drive Kit for Celestron CG-4 SkyWatcher EQ3-D EQ3-W | eBay

which doesn't appear to suitable for your EQ5 mount. I also have this mount as a GOTO and it's excellent.

I'm sure somebody with infinitely more knowledge than me will come along soon to help you.