Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Satellite crossing the moon

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Astronomy, although I have had an interest for a number of years. I'm a keen birder, and have often gazed at the skies using my birdwatching binoculars and telescope.

At Christmas, I got my first proper astronomy telescope, a Meade ETX125PE. I've spent the first few months getting to grips with it's use and feel I'm starting to get the hang of it, and am now getting fairly accurate and consistant Goto's. I've now started working through the Messier lists and Lunar 100 as a way of getting to know my way around the moon.

I've been reading SGL for a while, but and event last night promped this, my first post.

At 8.55pm last night I was searching for L47, the Alphonsus dark spots when a tiny object appeared in my view. I quickly realised that this was a satellite, perfectly sillouetted against the moon. I could clearly see a central rectangle with a rounded lobe at each side. It took just 5 or 6 seconds to transect the moon heading approximately from south to north. After it cleared the moon I quickly checked with my binoculars, but it was obviously in the earths shadow as there was no sign of a glow. It found this a very exiting sight.

Does this happen often or was this a very lucky fluke?

Regards

Martyn

Hi,Martyn and welcome to the Forum.

I have seen the odd aircraft briefly cross the field of view when looking at the Moon and of course plenty of satellites that appear as bright spots of light but nothing along the lines you have described....... it must have been traveling very slowly to have remained in the FOV for some five seconds.......... so no idea what it could be I'm afraid.

It does happen reasonably often.

There's a great image of the ISS against the Moon on SpaceWeather.com -- News and information about meteor showers, solar flares, auroras, and near-Earth asteroids at the moment.