Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What are Skywatcher included eyepieces?

Jbwz

Hey people.

Finally got my first telescope (130p) few days ago.

While skies are 100% cloud covered, decided to go a little deeper into optics (learning what lens does, eyepiece construction, etc etc).

Can't find a definitive answer on what those stock Super 25mm and Super 10mm are. Some websites say they are Plossl, others swear they're Kellner. Who's right?

Based on anything I read so far (Kellner having only 2 lenses vs 4 in Plossl design) I am leaning towards those provided eyepieces are Kellner?

P.S. if anyone has any recommendations on optics books please feel free to share. Not knowing anything about optics (to get quick core intro) I started reading Optics for Dummies. Thinking to progress to Optics by Eugene Hecht (looked at few pages and thought it looks a little too steep for an absolute beginner, even with mathematical background)

Thanks. 

20221129_193954.thumb.jpg.f31df3628ea461d0ad450d9d0d932d03.jpg

Kellners have has three elements - a single "field lens" and a cemented doublet "eye lens". The Skywatcher stock eyepieces are "modified achromat"; same general layout but a bit different on the lens shapes. Both designs are OK. Then Konig and RKE are also three-element designs but the other way round, doublet field lens and singlet eye lens.

The main 2-element designs are the Huygens and Ramsden and they're kind of rubbish. It doesn't help that when made nowadays they are virtually always made as cheaply as possible.

• Like 1

König actually designed 38 different eyepieces during his career, including a design later used by Clavé in their "Plössl" line.

It's unclear whether Clavé changed some glass types to yield better chromatic correction.

The 3-element one is well-known, but the ones produced under his name in Japan and sold in the '80s and '90s had 4 and 5 elements,