SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Red Dot Finder and Star Hopping

Hi there I’m new on here and I am a beginner from the UK. I have a Skywatcher 130/900 with EQ2 mount I will master the setting circles however an easier way would be to Star Hop using the red dot finder. I find it quite difficult to centre the dot as it moves around a lot have you got any tips? And what would be good upgrade? Thanks 

Hello and welcome to SGL.

First of all, are you using the supplied red dot finder (RDF)?
Sometimes these are a little better than useless. Too bright, or a tinted screen that obscures stars.
Even if you have a good one, the dot should not move, unless something is not fastened down. Have you checked if this is the issue?

You could upgrade to eaither Rigel Quickfinder or a Telrad.
The scope retailers all have these. There are threads on SGL where their merits and dislikes are discussed.

• Thanks 1

Do you have darker skies? Star hopping with a rdf works only when you can see enough stars. I would say you may need to at least see magnitude 4 stars to have sufficiently many to orient yourself.

Many people use rdf in combination with a RACI optical finder. The rdf is used first to point roughly in the correct area of sky and then the actual star hopping is done with the optical finder.

Edited by Nik271
  • Like 2

20 minutes ago, Nik271 said:

Do you have darker skies? Star hopping with a rdf works only when you can see enough stars. I would say you may need to at least see magnitude 4 stars to have sufficiently many to orient yourself.

Many people use rdf in combination with a RACI optical finder. The rdf is used first to point roughly in the correct area of sky and then the actual star hopping is done with the optical finder.

That's what I do, Nik. In fact I never switch on my RDF now: I just use it as a rough sight, then catch the target in my RACI.

Hi there thanks for the replies yes I am using the RDF supplied with the scope.