SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First lens purchase

Hi, I’m new to astronomy and have bought a Celestron Nexstar 8se telescope. I managed to get a look at Jupiter and Saturn and was really pleased to be able to see them clearly. The telescope came with one eyepiece, a Celestron 25mm which seems ok but after some reading it seems I might benefit from another eyepiece or a Barlow lens. My budget is around £80 so on the lower end of the scale but I don’t know whether to spend all the budget on one other lens, a Barlow, 2 cheaper lenses, you get the picture 🤑. Any advice will be very helpful, thanks 

• Like 1

if you're ok with the narrowed field of view a plossl gives, perhaps consider a zoom so you can adjust the FL to gain magnification, there's a few 7-21mm in your price range, that way you effectively get several options all in one package. You can then add specific FL's that you find work well for you later on if you want a wider FoV.

• Like 2

Nice scope! If i were you, i'd check out the Astro Essentials range on FLO and get the 32mm and 20mm super plossls as well as the barlow. 

This would give sharp views with good eye relief and useful magnifications of: 64x 81x 102x 127x 163x and 203x

The cost would be around £80 including shipping.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Mick H said:

Or a zoom lens EP:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/ovl-eyepieces/hyperflex-9-27mm-zoom.html

You could always sell it on when you find out which mm is best suited for you.

This is a very good option and one to consider.

51 minutes ago, lvan said:

Nice scope! If i were you, i'd check out the Astro Essentials range on FLO and get the 32mm and 20mm super plossls as well as the barlow. 

This would give sharp views with good eye relief and useful magnifications of: 64x 81x 102x 127x 163x and 203x

The cost would be around £80 including shipping.