Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Which filters???

assouptro

Hi Starpeople!

I have been imaging for a couple of years now with astrodon filters (1.25) 5nm ha sii and 3nm Oiii  With various Atik ccd cameras 

I have taken the plunge into cmos, namely a mono qhy 268 which came with a qhy 2” filter wheel 

As much as I would like 2” Astrodon or Chroma filters, they are out of my budget for the foreseeable, I would probably have to save for a couple of years so I am after some advice for suitable filters with minimal to no halo!
I have several scopes, from a Meade lx200 (normally f 7) and a recently purchased but not yet used in anger a Sharpstar 150hnt (f2.8) as well as a Samyang 135mm lens (f2)that I normally step down to f2.8 ish 

I know it’s a big ask…..

Any advice?? 

Many thanks 

Bryan 

I rate Astronomik - I haven't done a whole lot of work on targets with big bright stars in the FOV though, just 2 images; one with Alnitak, and another with Propus and Tejat (taken back in March/April but not even yet stacked!!!). If I get some time later, I can post some images of the stacks so you can see how filters perform.

• Thanks 1

2 hours ago, The Lazy Astronomer said:

I rate Astronomik - I haven't done a whole lot of work on targets with big bright stars in the FOV though, just 2 images; one with Alnitak, and another with Propus and Tejat (taken back in March/April but not even yet stacked!!!). If I get some time later, I can post some images of the stacks so you can see how filters perform.

Thanks 

I look forward to seeing some results! 😊

what scope we’re you using (f ratio) and how narrow are the filters in Nm? 

Cheers 

Bryan

2 hours ago, assouptro said:

Thanks 

I look forward to seeing some results! 😊

what scope we’re you using (f ratio) and how narrow are the filters in Nm? 

Cheers 

Bryan

I use an Esprit100 @ F5.5 with a full suite of Astronomik filters: L3 for luminance, deep sky RGB, and 6nm Ha/Oiii/Sii