SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ASI533/2600 darks, bias, do I need to do?

As titled really. I'm guessing I don't need to do darks at all. Do I still need to do a master bias or flat dark? Was a necessity with my 1600MM a few years ago. Would I get away with flats and lights? If I can't use a bias how do I calibrate the lights? What do 2600 users do?

You will definitely need to calibrate your flats with flat darks or bias and your lights with darks or you will get overcorrection of flats.

I use bias for flats since my flats exposure time is only 0,13s.

Darks are of little use with how little dark signal the cameras produce but its still needed to weed out hot pixels and calibrate lights (removing offset mostly).

I have a dark master made of 50x 30s exposures at -10 and use that for everything, even though often i take longer exposures or the camera is cooled lower than -10. But at -10 or lower it really doesnt matter anymore as the total amount of dark signal in a stack could still be less than 1 electron over many hours.

• Thanks 1

I have IMX 571 OSC cameras and calibrate the lights with master darks, flats and dark flats. I have no idea if the darks are needed but they don’t seem to do any harm and it’s no hardship to use them.

We spend thousands on kit and countless hours trying to capture precious photons, why wouldn't we aim for the best calibration we can possibly get?  You may get away without using Darks, but why do this when building a Dark library is no hardship and they can be reused over a season?

Darks - same exposure, temperature, offset and gain as lights

Flats - aim for a couple of seconds if possible (use t-shirt, sheets of white paper etc to reduce brightness of the light source), same temperature, offset and gain as lights

Flat Darks - match your Flat exposure time, same temperature, offset and gain as lights

6 minutes ago, Starflyer said:

Flats - aim for a couple of seconds if possible