Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SynScan EQ5 problems

irandar

Hello folks,

I am new to this hobby and am on the steep part of the learning curve. I have a Eq5 pro Synscan mount with handcontroller and also the wifi dongle using the Synscan app. My version is 4.39.19. I and one other friend have found that with the our handsets object-finding (without star alignment) is about 20 deg Az off to the east. With the wifi the object finding is perfect, as checked with Stellarium. Has anyone found this with Synscan. The mount will always go to where it is told by the handset or wifi. It seems as if the handset is making wrong calculations for az-alt.

Also with both the handset and wifi app I am not able to set a terrestrial object that the mount will go to correctly.

Thanks for any feedback.

Irving

18 hours ago, irandar said:

Hello folks,

I am new to this hobby and am on the steep part of the learning curve. I have a Eq5 pro Synscan mount with handcontroller and also the wifi dongle using the Synscan app. My version is 4.39.19. I and one other friend have found that with the our handsets object-finding (without star alignment) is about 20 deg Az off to the east. With the wifi the object finding is perfect, as checked with Stellarium. Has anyone found this with Synscan. The mount will always go to where it is told by the handset or wifi. It seems as if the handset is making wrong calculations for az-alt.

Also with both the handset and wifi app I am not able to set a terrestrial object that the mount will go to correctly.

Thanks for any feedback.

Irving

You might be better off creating a new thread for this, it sounds like a different problem.