SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

N.I.N.A. Which drop-down options are recommended?

Jonny_H

Hi all,

I am very new to N.I.N.A. and have been feeling my way around it this evening (for the first time).  I have connected my equipment for starters, however I noticed that there are an array of options which you can select when connecting your kit.  For example, my mount is an AZ EQQ GT and I use an EQDIR cable.  Under the telescope section you can select a number of different options under the ASCOM category: ASIMount, Simulator, and there are a few more (i think one is something like Direct telescope Hub, and another telescope for .NET or something similar).

My question is, which one 'should' i be picking?  Or doesn't it really matter?  Or should i be downloading another driver which i have missed?

For my cameras (ZWO 2600MC and 120MM Mini) they appear in the list so I have just selected them.  The ZWO EAF just comes up as ZWO EAF Focuser (1) and ZWO EAF Focuser (2) so i selected (1).  These appear to all be in order though so no issues with these. items (unless you tell me otherwise :) )

Any help or a point in the right direction will be appreciated :)

Thanks,

Jonny

When you use an EQDIR cable the telescope is called  "EQMOD ASCOM HEQ5/6" (or maybe something very similar). Don't worry, it doesn't actually need to know the exact model of your mount.

I have an EQ5 with DIY goto and it uses that driver name. 

• Thanks 1

If you are using an Eqdir cable directly into the mount, you don't actually need anything from skywatcher. 

In a nutshell, install the latest ascom platform from http://ascom-standards.org/ then install then install eqascom from http://eq-mod.sourceforge.net/eqaindex.html (where there are setup guides).