SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Plenty to enjoy in the Flaming star (IC405) and Tadpoles (IC410) region

geeklee

I've been chipping away at this since mid December 2021 so not too long but long enough for frustration to creep in waiting to get more decent OIII and SII!  After leaving around 4h of mainly Ha (but also a little OIII and SII) on the cutting room floor I was left with ~10h Ha, 3h OIII and 2.5hr SII.  The SII was fairly strong and was crucial to add structure to the Flaming star region and also the stronger background nebulosity.

The palette is a trade off against losing the familiar, strong reflection area in the Flaming star.  I'm OK with that for now 🙂

I was surprised by the detail in the spider and fly (top left) and there's a nice "double antennae" piece of nebulosity just to the right, and up from these two.

I tried to focus on bringing as much of faint nebulosity out as possible, with some structure and looking natural... I got close I hope.  Please click through and zoom in, as always I try and process these for 1:1 viewing.

This was shot with the Redcat 51 and 294MM Pro.  Captured with Voyager, pre-processed in APP and processed in PixInsight. 

Thanks for looking.

2022-FlamingStar-IC410-RedCat-294MM-1.thumb.jpg.b88df0667e1da3bb78a7f03bddd54902.jpg

FlamingStar-Annotated.thumb.jpg.f49c92e742629ff011dfcf8bbff16383.jpg

A few more technical details (dates captured, filters etc can be found on my Astrobin - link in sig below)

Edited by geeklee
  • Like 28

• geeklee changed the title to Plenty to enjoy in the Flaming star (IC405) and Tadpoles (IC410) region
9 hours ago, astro mick said:

This is really good,so much detail in there,quite amazing

Thanks Mick. I'm always surprised by the detail the RedCat's 250mm can show even with the bigger 4.6um pixels in bin2 mode of the 294MM (just like the 460EX). Loads of Ha helped and as mentioned, the Flaming star benefitted from that SII.