Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Questions about planetary imaging using Celestron Nexstar & Canon 1100D

edest

Hi all,

I have a Celeston Nexstar 127 and a Canon 1100D. I'd like to be able to do some back planetary imaging and have purchased a Canon T ring for my Canon 1100D. I have a few questions (I am a complete noob at this - so forgive any silly questions and apols if this has been asked before).

1) Do I just use the T Ring to connect the camera to the scope? I've seen a bunch of thread on various forums that seem to offer conflicting advice and some say you can attach it directly using the T Ring whereas others say you need another adaptor and others say get an adaptor with a barlow in it (https://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/celestron-x2-barlow-lens-with-t-adaptor-125.html)

2) How does the whole magnification thing work? (... see I told u I was a noob!!!). Visually I use different eyepieces to achieve different magnifications so how does this work with a DSLR camera attached directly with no eyepiece?

3) If the camera is connect to the scope using the T Ring how do I add in a moon filter into the mix?

4) What is the best way to take the photos (do I just press the button on the camera and risk moving it all, get a remote control button clicker or hook up to some software (I heard about Backyard EOS)?

5) Would I just be better off getting an astro camera (e.g. https://www.firstlightoptics.com/zwo-cameras/zwo-asi224mc-usb-3-colour-camera.html) rather than trying to use the DSLR camera?

Any tips would be really appreciated!!!

Many thanks in advance.

Ed 

Hi and welcome to SGL.

1 hour ago, edest said: