Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DIY telescope

PhilPassmore

I have said in other threads that I am new to astronomy, so if the direction I take in the search for great viewing takes a somewhat contrary turn that conflicts with general wisdom, please forgive me, it's just in my nature to get an idea stuck in my head and pursue it to my conclusion. 

This posting is about what is usually at the heart of all of our quests, a telescope that meets our needs. For some it is a good pair of binoculars, for others it's the biggest Maksutov that they can persuade their other halves to allow them to buy (or be single, or very good at keeping secrets). 

Having done a bit of exploring using a 250mm Dob with very questionable silvering (another project), I decided that there was little in the telescope world that couldn't be enhanced by increasing the aperture. There is after all, nothing to take the place of photons. The lure of a big refractor was strong, and there seemed a toss up between 'big' with  very nice glass (and probably three slices of it), or 'very big' with less exotic silicon, and only two bits. The problem for me, is that in reality, both would be stretching my budget. So, in a fashion that those who know me would understand, I decided to build one myself. 

I know that cheap glass is probably frowned on, but I decided to give it a go. I bought a 154mm f 7.8 doublet from China, together with an aluminium cell to mount it in. 

This cell mounts onto a sectikn of common brown underground drainage pipe of almost the perfect diameter. A snug fit of the cell was ensured by using the 'soft' side of seld adhesive velcro strips. The cell is secured with three countersunk set screws.