Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Question regarding an EQ2 mount from a newbie

Just bought myself a Skywatcher Explorer 130pm and I have a question about the EQ2 mount: Next to the RA settings is a metal round thing with a long bit pointing up (between the RA dial and the clock drive). I have no idea what this is or what it does, and it's really loose. Any ideas?

Sorry I can't give a better explanation of what it looks like but hey I'm a newbie!!:lol:

Thanks in advance!

Hello "Stars in their eyes!"

I've owned the Skywatcher 130PM, and I think the bit you mention is the "clutch" which you pull or push on the lever to disengage the clock drive, which will then allow you to use the hand operated controls to move the scope, to centre an object and then re-engage the motor drive by moving the clutch. The motor housing should have a "spring" attached to it, and attached the telescope body. This spring allows the motor to be actively pulled onto the cogs of the RA drive.

No doubt you will have others who will give advice on this.

I would have thought it might show you the clock drive and clutch in the instruction manual which should have come with the scope?

Regards,

philsail1

Hi Philsail1,

Thanks for the quick reply. That sounds like the answer to my query! I have looked through the instruction manual several times but could not find any reference to this at all. You have saved me many hours trawling the internet for an answer!!! Thanks again!

Aye, that looks like the set up "Astrobaby!"

That should now fully clarify the situation for "Stars in their eyes!"

Incidently, when I had my 130PM, that thin long spring was the only "iffy" bit I was a bit dissapointed with - it didn't seem to have a very good attachment point on the scope for it to maintain a nice clean and straight pull on the motor.

Regards,

philsail1