Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help with blending nightscape

Iem1

Hey guys, hope you are well!

I had a second outing with my new Samyang lens last night to try some nightscapes, I am quite happy with how it went overall.

I got what I think is a nice image, 90 second tracked milkyway shot and a few 90 second foreground shots that I have stacked in PS. I am struggling to blend the images unfortunately. Compared to my first attempt, the foreground has moved between foreground/star shots and so it is not as simple as cutting out the 'bad sky' as was the case with my first.

Is it still possible to blend these? I think if I can blend them I will need to use the healing brush to clean up the overlap between leftover bad sky etc But I cant really get that far yet.

Sorry if none of that makes sense, I am new to nightscapes and this method of processing :D 

Here is a tif of the sky and the stacked foreground if anyone wants a closer look to see if it salvageable. 

Sky(tif).tif

Stacked land (tif).tif

And here is png for initial idea of what I am working with.

Sky(png).thumb.png.e27d7f19e8e7cba168a7e7f9ba424ef9.png

And the land;

211119074_Stackedland(png).thumb.png.42d429790f2e81af8b207cdba52ade6c.png

Any advice is appreciated :) 

• Like 1

Hmmm, you've made life hard for yourself by choosing a foreground which has sky both above it and below it! 😜 (Those branches sticking out into the sky on the right hand side.) Without that, you could just paste the foreground image on top of the sky image, and move the foreground up a bit to cover the blur. However, I do have an idea... I'll try it and get back if it works!

🤣lly

Edited by ollypenrice
  • Haha 1

I think what I would do is slightly enlarge the foreground layer so that it overlaps any motion blur from the image of the sky then blend the two layers together. Then paint out the fiddly bits using a layer mask.

Alan  

Edited by Alien 13
  • Like 1

29 minutes ago, ollypenrice said: