NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help with Meade LX85 Maksitov Cassegrain 6"

Hello guys how are you doing.? Im a total beginner with astronomy, but since 30 something years Ive wanted to have a telescope.

As I wanted a telescope which would be ideal for beginners but would allow me to get more into an intermmediate level I bought a Meade LX85 6" Maksutov Cassegrain. Im also planning in getting into astrophotography but this will be something I will do after I get the basics right.

Today during the early morning I took the telescope out to do moon gazing, I was able to at least point the tracker to the moon and was very pleased with what I saw, however using the 26mm super plözl multicoated eye piece was dissapointing to say the least.

I figured out by my own that I should probably align the tracker during day time with the main tube. So I pointed the main tube to an object far in the distance and then proceeded to align the tracker right on the X spot. I did the alignment by just using the diagonal mirror eye piece since it proved to be simple enough.

During this time I was able to observe a black dot during calibration in the middle of the tube and I was a little concerned. 

I did some research during the afternoon and read in some forums that this black dot in the middle could be related tonthe secondary mirror.

I calmed down and proceeded to go outside and use my telescope  which was left outside several hours, i had coverrd the main tube with the lids and a I threw in a light jacket over it to keep it out of sight from prying eyes (where I live in Argentina having a telescope is not something common).

About 19:05 PM venus was north west so I gave it a shot and pointed the tracker at it. I took a look with the 26mm eye piece however I could only see a difuse blob of what I thought it was venus. This blob was perfectly round, there was no black spot in the middle while using the 26mm eyepiece.