Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie shopping list

Hello,

a noob here so please excuse the stupid questions. I'm putting a shopping list together for a portable telescope based astrophotography rig. 
It has to be portable as the only places in the UK with little light pollution, tend to be at the top of large hills.
My main aim is to have a rig that can be upgraded in time without having to throw too much away. I already have a DSLR (Canon 50D).
But it has to be as cheap as possible, but give me good results so I don't give up immediately because I get crap results.

My list so far.

Mount: Either a SkyWatcher EQ3 Goto Mount and Tripod. My only worry is a max imaging weight of 5kg
or spend the extra money and go with the EQ5, but that may well mean dropping in price on the scope.
I'm leaning towards the EQ3 as it could be a keeper for portability with a small scope.

Scope: Either a Skywatcher 80ED or William Optics Zenithstar 73 III APO, leaning towards the William Optics as it is the faster lens and is lighter.

Guidescope: Astro Essentials 32mm f/4 Mini Guide Scope + ZWO ASI 120MM Mini USB 2.0 Mono Camera

Then comes the accessories.
Image flattener. Is this necessary for a beginner?
T-Mount adapter for the canon.
A 1.25" and/or 2" to T-Mount Adapter.

I'm seen all sort of other accessories online for the camera to scope connection, extenders and the like.
What are the recommended, not vital but will make you life much easier accessories.

Anything else, other than.
Lots of large CF cards
Laptop with interchangeable Battery (and spares)
Lots of camera Batteries.
Lots of Batteries for the mounts.

I'm mostly interested in deep space objects, rather than the moon or planets.

So rip my list apart as you feel fit, but if you can come up with cheaper/alternative components, that would be much appriciated.

Hi and welcome to the forum ☺