NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Best ZWO ASI camera for Skywatcher Evostar 150ED

Hi,  I am looking to get into a bit for of the astrophotography side of things.

I am mainly looking image galaxies and nebular

I currently have a ASI 224MC camera for planetary imaging but now looking to something dedicated for DSO

My scope is a Skywatcher Evostar 150ED

Focal length is 120mm and F8

I have been trying to find the best camera suited for this scope.

I have been using Astronomy tools to try and work out what is best suited and i wanted to stay with ZWO just because i am already using one of them.

I want to go with a color camera as i am still learning all this and the added extra complications and filter with a mono camera might be a tad too much at this stage for me.

So in the end i came back with two options:

ASI071MC  and ASI294MC

The ASI017MC looks to give a slighter wider view than the ASI294MC  but they both look to be a good match for this scope.

I have no idea on what binning is or what it means,  so i left that part alone

So what i was hoping was for any advice on what my choices on these two cameras are,  weather i have selected poorly or if they would be a good choice.

I have a guide scope and guide camera,  Guide scope is an Orion 600 guide scope and the guide camera is a ASI290mm mini 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

I'm no expert by any means and other than the built in heater I am not knowledgeable enough to know what £450 extra buys you in the 071.... As you say the FOV is a touch bigger which may be important with your 150.

I have the 294 and that bins up to 4x4 and imagine the 071 is the same but it's basically combining pixels so 2x2 is 2 pixels wide and 2 pixels high so 4 in total merged as one as it were. Improves SNR but reduces definition I think but I've never tried it and tbh not entirely sure when I would.