Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice on Moon Filter please

Wanting to buy a Moon filter but unsure and confused, so some advice would be appreciated please

1.25" and unsure what the 'Transmission' figure quoted actually is, want to buy just one to start with, so which quoted 'Transmission' figure should I go for?

Many thanks in advance

Dave

I got onw with an Eyepiece set and the trasmission figure is 18%. Still a bit bright when half and above tbh.

OK cheers but I am a total beginner, so questions are which eliminates brightness more, a Filter with 'Transmission' of say 13% or 25%?

Word Transmission is the issue, would tend to go for the higher figure but if it transmits more light then less light would be required so maybe the lower figure?

Hope this isnt a dumb question and I sound like the total numpty which I am :(

You are corect. The lower figure means more light is blocked.

Although a bit more money I would recommend a polarising moon filter. This allows the level of transmission to be adjusted to suit exactly what you need for the phase of the Moon. It's good for Venus too.

Mike

You are corect. The lower figure means more light is blocked.

Although a bit more money I would recommend a polarising moon filter. This allows the level of transmission to be adjusted to suit exactly what you need for the phase of the Moon. It's good for Venus too.

Mike

Many thanks Mike, so would a Transmission Filter of say 13% be acceptable as my only (first) Moon Filter?

I have only just bought my first ever scope and due to clouds not even used it yet (on the sky!) but it performs amazingly with telegraph poles miles away which is what I have practised on today for the first time :(

I got two HIRCH filters from a US ebay site for the same price as one in UK.

One is 15% the other 50% and if your glare sensitive then you can always screw them together.

I find 15% on full moon is needed but the 39 useful with small crecents.