NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Is Classic EQ mount for astrophotography

AstroNtinos

Hi there, I’m quite new to astronomy and I want to buy my first telescope. I mostly need it for visual but also for astrophotography a bit. I started a topic (Help me find a good scope) . The guys in the other topic told me to buy a Dobsonian. But recently i wanted  to do astrophotography but as we know Dobsonian is not suitable for deep sky imaging. And as we know equatorial mounts are suitable for DSOs. But after reading some Articles i Think GoTo mounts arę suitable for deep sky. And a telescope with an EQ GoTo mount is far out of my budget. Now my question is is a Classic EQ mount (not motorized) at least suitable for deep sky imaging. 

Edited by AstroNtinos

If by Classic EQ you mean non Goto manual adjustment then I would say you have no more Astro photography potential than a Dob.

You can take short single pictures of DSO with most setups, however the amazing pictures you see posted on this site and others are created by taking many pictures of the same object for long periods of time and then combining them into a single stacked image.

without accurate tracking you simply cannot do this. Furthermore a single photo on a fixed mount would be very short in duration where as accurate tracking mounts can give exposures in excess of five minutes.

To put it into perspective I have an EQ5 with the motor pack and SynScan Goto. I have an absolute maximum exposure length of 1 minute with perfect polar alignment which is not a given.

Even though I am doing AP now if I had to start again I would get a decent Dob and really learn and enjoy the sky, then have a dabble at AP after some time.

Marvin

7 minutes ago, Marvin Jenkins said:

If by Classic EQ you mean non Goto manual adjustment then I would say you have no more Astro photography potential than a Dob.