Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi All, newbie here advice on upgrades

Hi All...... Still awaiting the arrival of my Skywatcher Evostar 150 and eq6.......but just in case Santa is listening I have a few questions regarding useful additions. 

I hope to do planet and Deep Sky Object photography. I have a Nikon D7100 but would like advice on if the Nikon would be better than a dedicated eyepiece ccd camera (£150 range). 

Also your thoughts on the Orion zoom eyepiece.

Also thoughts about upgrading the standard skywatcher 9x50 finder scope  to maybe the Skywatcher Evoguide 50ED.

Also Remote focus controller 

Also the 90deg adaptor for the polar scope 

Thanks All

11 minutes ago, Jim Hardy said:

Hi All...... Still awaiting the arrival of my Skywatcher Evostar 150 and eq6.......but just in case Santa is listening I have a few questions regarding useful additions. 

I hope to do planet and Deep Sky Object photography. I have a Nikon D7100 but would like advice on if the Nikon would be better than a dedicated eyepiece ccd camera (£150 range). 

Also your thoughts on the Orion zoom eyepiece.

Also thoughts about upgrading the standard skywatcher 9x50 finder scope  to maybe the Skywatcher Evoguide 50ED.

Also Remote focus controller 

Also the 90deg adaptor for the polar scope 

Thanks All

I would expect the Nikon to be better for DSO and certainly more forgiving in terms of 'goto' accuracy as you have a much larger sensor. I would stick with the Nikon while you get some experience.

A focus motor is good idea as it removes a source of 'wobble' whenever you touch the focuser - probably not essential - you have a sturdy telescope and mount.

If you really want to push the Santa budget, you might want to consider a Ioptron ipolar or QHY Polemaster for polar alignment. I have the former and it really speeds up the alignment process - it does however require using a laptop - if you are not using a laptop for anything else, then it adds to setup time.