Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQM35 power supply

Hey guys,

totally newbie here, I just got my EQM35 mount and as it may have appear in an old post, doesn’t come with the power supply, I was wonder if any of you has some experience with what kind of power supply do I need for it?, is it possible to use one of those jump starter for cars?, the manual says that needs a 12V 3A to function, I’ve only found a few power tanks with that specs which are a bit expensive if I compare with a regular jump startEr with a different setting, same 12V but more Amp or les Amp.

does more Amp means it’s going to fry my mount?.

I’m base in New Zealand by the way, so if any kiwi out there would like to share some info, I would get them a beer!.

thanks guys!. And sorry if this thread was already opened!.

As far as a power tank goes, I would steer clear of those jump start things as they're designed to deliver very high amps for short bursts (for starting a typical family car), they are not ideal for running a telescope mount over several hours.  Typically a lead acid car battery or jump start battery will degrade quickly if discharged below 50%, they are designed to be kept charged at all times.  You can use a 12v lead acid battery with a mount so long as you are careful not to discharge it below 50% and charge it as soon as possible after use, and remember to charge it periodically when not in use (any car battery charger should do the job, but a smart charger will help maintain the battery better).