Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi All 

I’m new to astronomy and astrophotography, I have just got a 150P on an EQ3 mount (not EQ3-2) and would like to put a motor on it, can anyone offer some advice on what I fit to the mount all through the price range and good and bad points if any. 

Thanks in advance for any suggestions 

Richard

This is the mount, it’s the best I can do at the moment as I don’t collect it until this afternoon. I have been told that it’s an EQ3 mount and not an EQ3-2.

Any help would be grateful 

Richard

52AE3D8A-8101-45D6-A604-B6E58318E39A.jpeg

I have an EQ-3, a Celestron CG-4...

mount-head.jpg.746b4ba80f210bf5f6186465ae6a7cc7.jpg

Don't be worried about the difference between an EQ-3 and an EQ3-2, as there really isn't a difference, at least where a motor-drive is concerned.  For visual-use, and perhaps even for imaging if inclined, I would motorise only the RA-axis...

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/all-mounts-motors/single-axis-dc-motor-drive-for-eq3-2.html

I have read where someone used one of these drives for an EQ-3, and successfully...

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/celestron-astromaster-series/motor-drive-celestron-astromaster-geq-93514.html

However, the mounting-brackets that come with it, one for an EQ-1, and the other for an EQ-2, will need to modified, if not a new bracket fashioned outright.

That drive has a speed-control, and for fine-tuning the rate at which an object is tracked; other drives do not.  But there is just one thing: the worm-shaft, where you would attach a slow-motion control, and the RA-gear, must rotate and turn easily, freely and smoothly, with no slop or binding.  With the mount unloaded, with no counterweight attached, you should be able to twist the worm-shaft with your fingers...

1171282336_twisthere.jpg.6e0a6543d1fe61b8e7fe3e82715da932.jpg