Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Secondary Mirror Upgrade Required?

bobro

Some time ago I changed the primary mirror on my Meade 130 Polaris for a mirror from a SkyWatcher 130P as images suggested the main Polaris mirror wasn't great with obvious aberrations. The result was an immediate improvement in the quality of captured images.

However, the secondary mirror remains the original from the Meade. I wonder if there is a way to test the secondary to determine its quality, assuming it has a significant involvement in image quality? 

bobro,

Not that I am an expert on secondaries, but years ago when I was making my 10" mirror I had a similar situation where as I  wanting a higher then average

secondary to go with my mirror, after a long chat with a gent whom made many high quality mirrors years ago,  ( he worked at an optical lab for space agency ) he told me unless you are using the scope for photos, which I was not, the human eye can not tell the difference between a 1/8th and a 1/20th wave secondary.

Now others may chime in and say hey wait a minute, but I ask you...

are you wanting to take images...then maybe, go for it,  but unless that secondary is totally horrible, I would stay the course, enjoy what you have with the better primary optics and get everything you can get outta that telescope.

just my two cents, take care.

Rick

p.s. let me know what you decide, I am interested either way :)

While it is quite easy to test primary mirrors with a variety of tests, it is not so easy with secondaries.

During manufacture, secondaries are tested against a reference flat when the interference fringes can be seen. Once the secondaries have been coated and in use for a while there are two problems that arise.