SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Best course of action for a beginner

So as the title says I am a beginner in the stargazing area. I recently got my scope a Skywatcher 130/900 reflector, mounted on an EQ2 mount and it came with 2 reverse kellner eyepieces a 10mm and a 25mm one and a barlow lens. I have been looking through it for about a week now, loving the experience and I just got back from seeing my first Messier object and I am very excited so forgive me if this post has some parts that seem jumbled! 

have been noticing, that with my rack and pinion focuser, it is hard to get the sweet spot of focus that i believe I can achieve with my scope and I have been considering investing on a 2 speed crayford focuser, in order to better control the focus. However there are so many other things that I want to get, like a motor drive for my mount and a t ring to attach my dslr but the fact that I have been in posession of the scope for a week and a day makes me feel like I have to take things slow now and learn how to use my equipment better before I proceed in an investment right now. So my question is, what should I do right now. Should I get any of the equipment I feel like is gonna help enhance my experience, or do you think I should spend some time first to learn the sky and how to better see with my scope right now? If I were to get some new equipment down the line, what do you think I should prioritize on?

Sorry for the long post, it's the excitement I guess!

We all know the excitement, no need to say sorry about anything. That’s what it’s all about! 🙂

And this is unlikely to be the answer you’re looking for ... but you should wait.

Spend time with your scope, using it, learning the sky and learning what you can do with your scope and your skies. Certainly think about what might help in your enjoyment of the hobby but, mostly, just enjoy what you’re doing. 

And it seems to me you’re doing just fine!

Have fun and go easy.

• Like 3