Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Plotting locations...

discardedastro

I'm lucky enough to have a reasonably large garden and field near the house, so I'm slightly spoilt for choice on where to put an observatory, though there's plenty of constraints for each potential site.

I wanted to get a good set of horizon profiles - I've seen some of the makeshift horizon visibility measurement tools, but this seemed pretty slow to do and coarse, not to mention fiddly to digitise and compare. I had a bit of a brainwave and figured I'd share the results.

I have a 360 degree camera, a first-generation Ricoh Theta S - you can get them on eBay for sensible money. Alternatively, you can take regular photos (carefully, with a levelled tripod) and stitch them in software for this purpose. The Theta spits out equirectangular-projected images which are stitched in the camera for an approximately 360 degree view, using two lenses/sensors. So I figured all I needed was to take nice level photos, north-aligned, and I could do some simple software to draw a horizon line. This is the sort of photo you get out (once I've blurred out my ugly mug):

R0010533.thumb.JPG.98727c8d7c2665503f3ebda6c4fe523f.JPG

Of course, I forgot to north-align my photos when taking them. While it would, as my partner pointed out, have been quicker to go re-take the photos I figured I'd have some fun so I wrote a rudimentary moon-spotting algorithm (using prior knowledge of approx location+time of the photos), used the moon azimuth to calculate which pixel column was north, and offset everything by that. Deeply unscientific, but for a relative comparison, good enough to get everything pointed roughly the same way!

579215024_2019-04-1622_54_10-Figure1.png.c5494fdd391d5dd04df473a2758dfbd7.png

My horizon detection is very simple, and just takes a ~4 degree block of pixels, looks for darker pixels, and calculates an average height, the blue dots in this: