NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Another newbie seeks advice on first telescope and future upgrades

Hi!

Mr Ab Solute Beginner here, please be gentle with me! :D:hello2:

Reading Sky At Night magazine beginner telescope guide this month I see that they recommend the Skywatcher Explorer 130, and reading a few posts here seems to confirm this. I will most likely buy this as my first telescope, however I have some newbie questions...

The finder scope - can that be upgraded / replaced with a better one? What's good to have for finding stars, galaxies, etc?

The mount - can a motor drive be fitted to enable long exposure photography with this (or any / all) telescope? What's a good motor drive unit, how are they fitted, and how do they come?

The tripod - are these all interchangeable with all mounts and telescopes? Or.. is there a wide range of varying price and quality models available that will work with the rest of the setup?

I'm mainly a photographer and computer addict at heart so those are the things I know a lot about, if there's some fun thing I can do with the laptop out in the garden then that would be spiffing. I love looking at Stellarium and could see it being a useful tool - is it? I would like to be able to read a star chart and find the stars manually rather than use a Go-To scope, but having a basic motor drive for the photography aspect is something I would aspire to after my initial scope purchase.. assuming it's something I could upgrade without too much cost or hassle.

That's another thing - our garden is quite a slope with trees and grass all the way up it, would this present a problem? We usually get very good views of the stars (even out of my bedroom skylight); I would probably have to drive a mile to get to open fields on high ground, is this likely to upset the telescope in any way? How can I avoid disturbing the collimation which I've been reading about?