Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Grabbed a couple of hours on Friday night to take 7 x 300s of RGB each.

M51 is on the small side for my rig so this is quite a heavy crop, I have included the original for reference. 

Stacked and Registered in APP, Processed in Star Tools and finished in Affinity (I just discovered Affinity - what a find!!!!  Under £50 for perpetual license and as far as I'm concerned better and easier that Photoshop - I just need to learn it :)

).

M51 ST v1 AFF v1 Crop Large.jpg

M51 AFF v1 Small.jpg

Thanks Peter, the blue helps, I will probably reprocess more fully when I get chance.

I'm really impressed with Affinity, there was no way I would subscribe to PS at the price they charge but this is excellent and 16 bit, plus the tutorial videos are outstanding.

M51 ST v1 AFF v2 Large.jpg

• 5 months later...

Hi, I'm new to AstroPhotography and trying to do it on a budget. Rather than pay £120 per year I had intended to use Affinity and just £50 once off but have found all the guides (usually videos in youtube) use Photoshop. I've tried to translate these into Affinity but I've simply failed and despite searching I haven't found instructions for Affinity.

#Flattery mode on#

I'd be overjoyed if i had results as you've shown above.

#Flattery mode off#

Do you know of anywhere there is a dummy's guide to doing this using Affinity, or could I ask, are you (someone reading this) able to write a more specific guide.

As an example, this is what I've found so far " Apply a moderate levels adjustment first, then curves for some contrast, now remove any vignetting and finally HSL If necessary you can also de-fringe ". Not a lot of help....

Thanks

**** I've just re-read your posts and spotted Star Tools! Been there, seen the video, interesting. New to me but it may be that's what I'm after ****