Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The benefits of planning for the Bowl of Virgo

BiggarDigger

Hi everyone, last month I had my first brush with The Bowl of Virgo and I was taken aback with the number and different categories of galaxy that were observable through my 200P Dob.  So much so that although very satisfied, I felt I needed much better planning to be able to enjoy the session to its maximum.  So, I studied the star charts, reviewed Turn Left at Orion and cross checked against Stellarium.  It must be the curse of observing in Scotland, because since then every night has been blocked out with (even more) snow, low dense cloud or been a work nigh making it difficult to get out.

Last night was different however.  The Clear Outside App promised clear skies from abut 10pm through to dawn, so I made my excuses and took the scope out into the back garden to cool down while I retreated to back inside to kit up with thermals.  Back out at 10:30pm to mostly clear skies, and only traces of high altitude cirrus.

While letting my eyes adapt, I took in M13, experimenting with different eyepieces and getting some fantastic views with the stock 25mm plus a 2x Barlow.  The cluster was clearly defined with many individual stars visible.