SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Binoculars advice - newbie!

Hey all, I'm hoping for some help please. I have always had a lingering interest in stargazing and I am a complete novice currently without any equipment. I have been told that a good place to start might be to purchase some binoculars and this is where I would like some guidance please. This could be a 5 minute fad but I need to start somewhere and would like to give it a go with some binoculars to see how I get on before potentially purchasing anything else. I've been completely bamboozled by the 10 x 50 / 12 x 50 options etc and have done all the usual googling for some help. The general consensus seems to be that 10 x 50's would probably be better due to shaking hands which is to naturally be expected. Any further advice please would be most appreciated. I certainly have a limited budget to start with (probably up to £80 max) and like everybody I would really like the best possible (getting my money's worth) product to fit my budget with the criteria being as follows:-

Comfort, good visual quality, lightweight (if possible)......

I saw a pair of Praktica 10x50 binos for around £40.00 but had read somewhere that these were quite heavy...... of course I could be completely unrealistic or talking complete nonsense with all of the above and maybe £80 won't get me anything decent. Any ideas please guys? Many thanks!

I’m a bit new so totally unqualified to help but I recently bought some Helios 8 x42 (Opticron are also a good value brand) primarily for birdwatching but also stargazing and I’m very pleased with them. 

Whichever you choose I would definetly go waterproof, reasonable quality seems to start around £80/100.