Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Equipment for pc viewing

Hello all!

Real newbie here to this endeavor! Always wanted to get into astronomy but life happened and then I hit 59 lol!! What I'm looking for is a telescope that will allow me to view on my laptop/pc! My brother and I both have poor focus when it comes to the small optical viewers so any help is appreciated! I have been looking at some of the Celestron equipment, particularly the Nexstar! I need it to be pretty simple to operate so that my brother who has a learning disability, can operate it if I'm not there to help him! Any other suggestions to consider before purchase are welcome!! Thanks

First add a location, it helps to offer advice and information.

What do you mean or think that "pretty simple" is? What do you expect to see ?

The Nexstars (SE range are Maks) and they are not specifically "easy". They are "goto", you supply the data, you set them up, you do the alignment, and if you have done it all correctly then they goto the next target. Automatic, plug-and-play or whatever people think about them they are not. Heck you have to choose the target they goto. In some ways they do not do a lot at the end of the day.

From having used a few the Meade ETX-80 is likely the simplest to set up. But it is not going to deliver high magnification views. Not sure about the recent Meade ETX 90(?) and 125. Having used Meade, Celestron and Skywatchers I still think Meade got the set up best of all. They assumed you knew close to nothing. Which was about correct when I got one.

Equipment: Scope (goto), webcam - modified (the bigger the chip the better), eyepiece, laptop, webcam capture software. One thing is the webcam and the eyepiece will sit at different positions so you need to construct a small extension unit for the eyepiece, dimensions to be such that you can locate an object with the eyepiece then swap to the webcam and the target is still in view and in focus.