Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Mead dsi-c

Hi all i have a questio,can the meade dsi c guide and image at the same time through the eyepiece sorry if it is a stupid question but i am new to this any help would be great,and thank you all.nige :salute:

Yes you can guide and image at the same time with the DSI camera.

The site below may be of assistance to you, and there are updates available there too.

You may have to sign up with a user name and password, but it is free.

There are some video tutorials by a guy named Matt Taylor which you will find useful, although the quality is not brilliant.

Ron. :D

PS. You do not use an eyepiece, the camera goes straight into your telescope focuser, and acts as the eyepiece itself. That's for Deep Sky Objects. If you Image the moon or planets, then you will probably use eyepiece or Barlow projection into the camera.

http://www.meade4m.com/

From my dim and distant past, and the 3 nights with Meade's envisage application (before I junked it and used something far far better), I vauguely remember the Meade Envisage application has a "bodged" guidng with single camera mode... i.e it takes the "imaging" picture, and then uses that one single image to adjust the mount, and take another image. So the time between mount corrections is equal to the exposure time for the image. Its guiding, but not really as we know it.

If you are talking about guding corrections every 1-5 seconds (depending), then no a single chip CCD cannot eally guide and image at the same time.

I will watch and learn from all your comments this topic has generated alot of opinions which is good and i hope to find the answer within all of your comments.Yours not worthy nige.THANK YOU ALL.Nige