Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Opticstar Guidescope 60 XL.....but can it take a diagonal ??

Hello evrybody,

Calling upon your collective expertise as I am a novice to all this techie gear.

Thinking about adding  a better finder / guide scope (for the furure)  to my collection of scopes  (  C6XLT, SW200PDS, Opticstar AR80 ).  Siimplicity is the key, so a easy to fit and swap item that I can change from finder duties to guiding duties whilst observing in the dark...... ie without physically taking it all off the primary scope.  This one has come up...

http://www.opticstar.com/Run/Astronomy/Astro-Accessories-Imagers-Opticstar.asp?p=0_10_5_0_3_350

It works with 1.25" EPs as a straight through finder and CCD cameras...GREAT !!.....But   ....  it would be nice to use it with a diagonal, especially with the 200PDS.

It has been suggested that I might need a barlow inserted to achieve this.   Great !! ....but  is this actually achievable ??? ...I don't want to fork out the cash to be disappointed.

Also I don't want the effective magnification to increase dramatically and make it poorer at finding or guiding  (  I have seen a 1.5X barlow for sale which is not too extreme).

Anybody had experience with this " problem" on or with similar issues???

Many thanks,

Sean.

I would assume not. The finderscope's tube length is optimised for straight through use with either an eyepiece or guide camera so adding a diagonal into the equation will position the eyepiece too far away from the point of focus. Adding a barlow either in front of or after the diagonal will move the point of focus farther out but will increase the magnification. You could probably compensate for the increased focal length by using a lower power eyepiece.

Thanks for the reply Cornelius,