Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Yet another Deneb-region image

Last night was my first time out with the new-to-me 50mm lens on the canon. The camera was mounted on the NEQ6, which was aligned using Polemaster. I spent a lot of time playing around, seeing what it would do, going up to a try at a 300s sub, but I was not really happy with the result of that, but when I get the guiding sorted out, that should improve dramatically. At least I got to see what a 300s sub under my streetlights could look like. I suppose inevitably, I found myself imaging the area around Deneb.

I am new to imaging on the NEQ6, and was a little disconcerted at first by how similar the subs were. That may sound a little strange, but I am used to imaging on an AZ mount, with less-than-perfect tracking, so every time a sub would download, the image would noticeably change. These didn't. I kept having to check the number on the preview dispaly to make sure that it was actually downloading the latest sub. I should make it clear that I am not complaining about this - it is clearly a very good thing, but will require a little bit of mental-adjustment on my part.

This is a stack of 16/20 120s lights (ISO 800, f/4) with a 15s gap between them, together with 10 darks and 50 bias, taken using EOS utils (I could not get ATP to play ball at all, although it worked well with the CCD a few nights back). The SQM reading next to the camera lens was 17.90 and the temperature was 26ºC.

The resultant image was processed in PS7.0, following the procedure as detailed in MEPC pp 116-124. I tried having a go at the 'second histogram stretch', but all my efforts made the image worse (IMO). If anyone wants to have a go, you are most welcome to try. This is 30% size of the original. I have also included corner sections at full resolution because, rather to my surprise after what I had read about this lens, it appears to have significant coma, particularly in the top two corners.