Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Building a Newtonian Reflector

InvaderXan

Hello :shocked:

I was wondering if anyone here had ever built a Newtonian from scratch, and if they could perhaps offer me a little advice.

My idea was to use a big shaving mirror (10-20") with a truss rod assembly to make a budget light bucket. Would this even be feasible?

Thanks in advance.

-X-

I have built a few, one 8.75 f6 a 12" f6 a 14" f6 and others from 4" to 8" from f3 to f8.

The first two were tubed scopes, and equatorially mounted. The rest were Dobsonian, on fairly simple structures. I have no experience of Truss designs at all, and I detect that that is probably the area you are most interested in.

I trust the shaving mirror bit, was a light hearted quip. :shocked:

Ron. :lol:

Well to be honest, I was only half joking about the shaving mirror... For the sole reason that they're about the cheapest type of concave mirror you can buy. I'm guessing that means this would be a dumb idea. :shocked:

(I know how to use 'em, but I've no idea how to build 'em!)

I apologise, I had no intention to ridicule you in the slightest. I just thought you were having a laugh knowing full well we would treat is as such.

The truth being a shaving mirror, although having a spherical curve, would not serve as an astronomical objective. The focal length of it would be quite short. and to place a secondary mirror in order to divert the light out to a focuser, would not be practical. Having said that, the old Schmidt Cameras had the film placed at the focus, but it had to be on a curved support to ensure everything was in focus across the field.

If you have a shaving mirror, and reflect the sun on to a wall, and move it back and forth to get the image as small as you can, it will give you an indication of the focal length of the mirror.

Ron. :shocked:

:shocked: Don't worry, no offense taken. The idea seemed like a long shot, but I was just wondering if it was possible...