Which second scope?

Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to this - just got my first scope (Skywatcher 130p) last Christmas but am enjoying and think I've already been bitten by the dreaded aperture fever!

Am now looking at my next scope and thinking about either 10 or 12inch dob.  My questions are - would the view from the 12 inch be worth the extra cost?  I'm relatively young and fit (still playing rugby on the odd weekend, and relatively strong) so I assume the 12 inch wouldn't be too much to handle.

I would love an Orion Optics VX12 but think that's out of my price range for now so lookig at the GSO deluxe ones. Is that a sensible choice?  Or should I be thinking about something else entirely?

I live in a fairly suburban area, right on the coast - light pollution map has me in an orange zone if that makes any difference.

Thanks for any advice!

Andy

Hi Andy, a Skywatcher 12" Flextube, manual would make for a good choice and complementary alternative to your 130. Will require the light shroud, use at home and if you get the opportunity then take to a dark sky location occasionally by which it will really impress.

That's my review and I stand by it, but I would add one thing.

The Dob base is not as smooth as I would like, but a small price to pay for the portability of the scope. 

Regarding the eyepiece issue, the major expense is a Paracorr. Once that is taken care of, using any halfway decent eyepiece will do. Of course, quality eyepieces DO improve the views. 

Eyepiece wise, I've already got a set of BST starguiders that I've bought for my 130p - from what I understand they should be fine as long as I stick to f5 or slower (the vx12 or probably vx14 by that time is a long way off because I know I'll nees to upgrade all my eyepieces in the meantime)

Budget is somewhere round the £500 - £700 mark.  I'll upgrade with telrad/raci later, that's not included in that budget.