SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Alignment help

Hi everyone.

I have a question and need your help.  I got a Celestron 6 inch telescope  and with the skies finally clearing I tried to align it.  as per the instruction guide, as the first step I tried to align the finder scope and the eyepiece.  I centered my finder scope on arctrus and then tried to center my scope but I could not see anything from my eyepiece.   I do not know what I am doing wrong.  I know for sure that protective cover is not on the lens. I will try again tomorrow morning to align scope and the finder scope by aiming it at a building  but please help me am I doing something wrong? should I be using celestron skyalign method? .

I am  in Toronto,  Canada, please help me and guide me.  I am a newbie and will really appreciate all your help.

Thanks

1) welcome :)

2) it might not be in the eyepiece if the alignment is bad, try setting it up in the day time using a distant roof apex or to aerial

3) it might be badly out of focus in the EP so there but try running the focuser through full travel while looking

4) use your lowest power eyepiece for this activity to help find your alignment target

Yes - the 'scope and the finder need to be aligned, otherwise when you try it with a star, they might be "out".  Aim at something like a distant aerial or chimney pot, then adjust the finder to get it in the middle of the finder's view.  Then when you get a star in the finder, it should also be seen in the eyepiece, subject to fine adjustment.  

Also, when trying to get your star in the eyepiece, use low power (high focal length EP), since at high mag the field of view is smaller and it's easier to miss the target.

Good luck - you should crack it quite easily!

Doug.