Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Better suited planetary camera for 127 Mak?

Hello everyone, I have only recently got myself a telescope and have been enjoying it very much: a Celestron NexStar 127 SLT.

Now, I did a lot of reading here beforehand and I knew before getting it that it would be great for visual use (for what it is) but not ideally suited for imaging, which I was fine with.

I am a photographer anyway and I know that sometimes you need to put the camera down and just enjoy what you are looking at..... but well, you know how it is - when you see something awesome pretty soon you want to take a picture of it. 

So, out comes the Sony α700, for which I already had a T-mount adapter and the results were not too bad. For all of these I took between 40 and 60 images and stacked/processed them using Registax, except for the moons of Jupiter which were a separate exposure, then I chopped in the stacked Jupiter image:

First attempt at Jupiter, with Ganymede, Europa, Io and Callisto

post-44622-0-42118600-1432147515_thumb.j

Second attempt, using 2x teleconverter. Nice to see the GRS. 

post-44622-0-95502700-1432147579_thumb.j

Saturn

post-44622-0-98053900-1432147673_thumb.j

However, I found using the camera for this task to be incredibly tedious, which is not surprising as this is not what it was built for.

It does not shoot video and there is no mirror lock up feature, so to shoot many images I had to use the 2 sec self-timer (with mirror pre-fire)  then wait for the vibrations of the mirror returning to die away before shooting the next frame. It also heavy and the viewfinder is very dark making focusing tricky.